Iain Chapple photo


Professor Iain L. C. Chapple

Ph.D. CCST (Rest Dent)

Iain Chapple is Professor of Periodontology, Head of the School of Dentistry and Director of Research for the Institute of Clinical Science, University of Birmingham UK. He graduated 1986 from Newcastle University. Iain is former Scientific Editor of: the British Dental Journal; Journal of Periodontal Research and current Associate Editor of: the Journal Clinical Periodontology. He has written 8-textbooks and 18 book chapters. Iain served the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG) as President (2006-7), Group Chair (2008-1015) and Counsellor (2016). He served the European Federation of Periodontology (EFP) as: Treasurer (2007-2013); EFP Workshop co-chair (2008-current); Foundation Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee; Editor of JCP Digest (2014-2016); EFP Secretary General (2016-2019). He was British Society of Periodontology President 2014-2015 and awarded the Charles Tomes medal of the Royal College of Surgeons (2011), the IADR PRG Rizzo Research Award (2001), and IADR Distinguished Scientist in Periodontal Research 2018. He was awarded the special citation award of the American Academy of Periodontology 2018. Iain leads Birmingham’s Periodontal Research Group, has published over 200 peer reviewed manuscripts in the international scientific literature.